

MEMORANDUM

April 13, 2024

Policy R315, Service Area Designations

Policy R315, Service Area Designations and Coordination of Off-Campus Courses and Programs defines institutional service areas by county, level, and type of instruction for Utah System of Higher Education (USHE) institutions. The geographic designations are intended to define where institutions may establish campuses, centers, and other physical locations and offer college options to secondary students.

The policy needs to be updated to clarify distinct service regions for degree-granting and technical education institutions. The policy defines criteria for exceptions, including Right of First Refusal, contract training, and institution requests to the Board to offer training outside of a designated service region. The policy requires the Office of the Commissioner to maintain an inventory of training offered outside of designated geographic areas. The following are concepts relating to the technical education aspects of the policy for the Technical Education Committee's discussion and feedback.

Utah Statute

Geographic service regions for providing technical education instruction to secondary students at technical colleges and authorized degree-granting institutions are defined in statute. Geographic service areas are defined for technical colleges in <u>Utah Code § 53B-2a-105</u> and for authorized degree-granting institutions in 53B-2a-201.

<u>Utah Code § 53B-2a-106(3)(c)</u> also prohibits technical colleges from offering instruction outside their assigned regions unless there is an agreement with the affected institution or it is specifically requested by an employer or a craft, trade, or apprenticeship program.

Technical College	School Districts Served
Bridgerland	Box Elder School District
	Cache School District
	Logan School District
	Rich School District
Davis	Davis School District
	Morgan School District
Dixie	Washington School District
Mountainland	Alpine School District

	N. 1 . 0.1 . 1.D.'
	Nebo School District
	Provo School District
	South Summit School District
	North Summit School District
	Wasatch School District
	Park City School District
Ogden-Weber	Ogden City School District
	Weber School District
Southwest	Beaver School District
	Garfield School District
	Iron School District
	Kane School District
Tooele	Tooele County School District
Uintah Basin	Daggett School District
	Duchesne School District
	Uintah School District
Salt Lake Community College	Granite School District
	Murray School District
	Canyons School District
Snow College	Juab School District
	Millard School District
	Tintic School District
	North Sanpete School District
	South Sanpete School District
	Wayne School District
	Piute School District
	Sevier School District
Utah State University	Carbon School District (Eastern)
	Emery School District (Eastern)
	San Juan School District (Blanding)
	Grand School District (Moab)

Statute also defines regional higher education degree-granting partners for technical colleges in <u>53B-2a-112</u>. as follows:

Degree-Granting Institution	Technical College
Utah State University	Bridgerland
Weber State University	Davis
Utah Tech University	Dixie
Utah Valley University	Mountainland
Weber State University	Ogden-Weber

Southern Utah University	Southwest
Utah State University	Tooele
Utah State University	Uintah Basin

Commissioner's Recommendation

The Commissioner recommends that the Board Technical Education Committee provide feedback on policy concepts relating to technical education service regions and requests for exceptions to offer programs outside of the designated geographic service region, incorporating feedback into policy drafts.